Archive | January 31, 2013

Chicken Cheesesteaks

I was stuck inside today because of the frigid wind blowing so I missed the fun of meeting with my friend, Angie.  So… next best thing…. write about food!

I found this recipe from a favorite food blog site of mine.  http://www.howsweeteats.com/2012/09/homemade-chicken-cheesesteaks/

I get her notifications by email and the moment I saw this one, it was put on my menu!  So glad I did it!

_DSC4630_edited-1

Super Simple Ingredients:  (or I don’t make it!)

  • 2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken thighs (I had bone-in)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 1 green pepper, sliced
  • 1 sweet onion, sliced  (I had a purple one.)
  • 8 ounces sharp white cheddar cheese, freshly grated
  • 1/2 tablespoon butter
  • 1/2 tablespoon flour
  • 2/3 cup half and half
  • 6 whole wheat sub rolls

_DSC4641_edited-1

Season both sides of your chicken with salt and pepper.

_DSC4649_edited-1

Heat a large cast iron skillet (or another oven-safe skillet)  over medium-high heat.  Add 1 tablespoon of olive oil and sear your meat on both sides until nice and golden.  About 2 minutes per side.  Once seared to your liking, place skillet in a preheated 400 degree oven and allow to roast for 15-20 minutes.  With my bone-in chicken I let it roast 25 minutes. Set chicken on a platter to cool then tear the meat off.

_DSC4646_edited-1

Slice up your green pepper and onion.

 

Heat another skillet over medium-low heat and add 1 Tablespoon olive oil.  Add peppers and onions and sprinkle with salt and pepper. I cook these until nice and wilted and caramelized because my husband does not like crunch in his onions.

_DSC4656_edited-1_DSC4658_edited-1

In a small saucepan, heat butter over medium heat until it is sizzling.  Whisk in flour to create a yellow, gummy mixture.

_DSC4660_edited-1

Add half & half and whisk well to incoorporate it to the flour/butter goo.  Now add the cheese.

_DSC4662_edited-1

Cook and whisk, whisk and cook until milk mixture is bubbly and thick. Reduce heat to low at this point.

_DSC4668_edited-1

This will be such a creamy bit of cheese heaven!

_DSC4672_edited-1

Assembling:  Lay out 6 squares of aluminum foil.  Stuff each roll with chicken, drizzle with the cheese sauce.  Stuff some onions and peppers in next and top with some extra grated cheese.  Place each stuffed roll on a piece of foil and roll that baby up nice and tight, sealing it around the edges.  Put these on a baking sheet and place in a 300 degree oven for 10-15minutes.  Take out, unroll and enjoy!!!  We did!

_DSC4677_edited-1