Archive | January 8, 2013

Cranberry Salad

I am one of those who does not like cranberry sauce, cranberry jello..okay cranberry juice mixed with grape juice is good but all those others, I will just passed over.

BUT…. this is a recipe that I got from my Granny and I am in love.  You don’t have to wait until Christmas to make it you just have to find the raw cranberries and that can be tricky any time of year.

DSC_3691

DSC_3694

Simple, simple ingredients which is almost always a pre-requisite.  The only problem is finding raw cranberries but I am on a mission to see if Ocean Spray will send them directly to me.  We shall see because I want this more than just Christmas time!

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag raw cranberries
  • 2 large granny smith apples
  • 2 Tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup grapes
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3 cups mini marshmallows
  • 8 ounces whipped topping

DSC_3703

In a food processor, grid up the raw cranberries until they are al chopped up nice and tiny.

DSC_1038DSC_3704

Cut up your apples and toss them with the lemon juce to keep them from turning brown.

DSC_3712

Cut your grapes in half.

DSC_3716

Now in a medium bowl, combine the cranberries, apples, grapes and sugar.  Stir this up.  Send this to the refrigerator until you are ready to serve.

DSC_3920

Just before serving, fold in the mini marshmallows.

DSC_3925

Oh.  Yes.  This is the way I should have been eating cranberries all along.  This salad does not last long around my family!  Enjoy!

The Great Smoky Mountains

DSC_3966

While traveling over to Gatlinburg, Tennessee, I am once again in awe of this sight.

DSC_3967

The name came from the fog that is set over it in the morning and after a rain that makes the mountains look like they are smoking.

DSC_3968

We travel this way a couple of times a year and I have never tired of the sight.

DSC_3969

DSC_3974

DSC_3988