Chess Pie

DSC_3356_edited-1

This is a pie that my family loves and a recipe that I remember eating at my grandmama’s home.  She always called it Buttermilk Pie.  After some research I found that Chess Pie and Buttermilk Pie are similar in ingredients but Chess adds cornmeal while Buttermilk Pie adds flour.  I love the consistency of the cornmeal in this pie so I create mine that way.   It is a custard type pie and almost melts in your mouth with each bite.  These ingredients are easily on hand around here so it is a painless dessert for me to pull together.

DSC_3306_edited-1

Simple Ingredients:

  • 1/2 Cup butter
  • 1 1/2 Cup sugar
  • 3 eggs – well beaten
  • 1 Tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1/4 Cup plain or self-rising cornmeal
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 Cup buttermilk
  • optional:  flavored syrups for a drizzled topping

DSC_3315_edited-1

Cream together butter and sugar.  Add eggs, cornstarch, cornmeal and vanilla until well blended.

Add buttermilk and blend.

DSC_3318_edited-1

I make my own pie crusts but a store bought ready made one will do fine. If you want an easy homemade pie crust recipe visit thepioneerwoman.com for this one that I make.

DSC_3319_edited-1

Pour mixture into an unbaked pie shell.  Place pie into a preheated 450 degree oven and as soon as  you close the oven door, reduce the heat to 350 degrees and bake for 35 minutes or until filling is set and a caramel color.

I always cover my edges for the first half of cooking pies just so I know the edges won’t burn before the pie is cooked.

DSC_3334_edited-1

My sister introduced me to topping this pie with a drizzle of flavored syrups.  My husband likes his just cooled and without any adornments.

DSC_3356_edited-1

Creamy, melt-in-your-mouth delicious

Enjoy! T

 

 

Leave a Reply

