Archive | February 15, 2013

Garlic-Parmesan Mashed Cauliflower

I’ve heard about it but hesitated to make it, not sure about what it would be like.  I took the plunge and I was not disappointed!  Great flavor and so creamy!

_DSC0166_edited-1

So once I decided to try this dish, I went straight to my favorite magazine, Taste of Home and found exactly what I was looking for.

_DSC0126_edited-1

SUPER SIMPLE INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 heads of cauliflower
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste (just a sprinkling for me)

_DSC0128_edited-1_DSC0135_edited-1

Cut cauliflower into florets.  In a shallow pan add about 1 inch of water and bring to a boil.  Add cauliflower.

_DSC0136_edited-1_DSC0137

Peel the garlic and add those whole cloves to the cauliflower.  Add a sprinkling of salt and pepper and then add the lid to the pan to steam the vegetables.

_DSC0145_edited-1_DSC0146_edited-1

Steam for 10 minutes and then drain the cauliflower.  Dump the cauliflower and garlic cloves into a food processor.

_DSC0149_edited-1

Add milk, sour cream, and parmesan cheese to the food processor and blend until creamy.

_DSC0151_edited-1

Pour the cauliflower mixture into a 2 quart baking dish.  Stick this into a preheated 350 degree oven for 25 minutes.

_DSC0167_edited-1

Such a great, rich flavor!  I was amazed!