5K, 8K, 10K, and 21K…. k, I am taking a summer break!

Last October, I began running again after years and years and years away from that activity.  From that point on I was a little obsessed.

_DSC1841_edited-1

This spring I signed up for 4 runs in 6 weeks.  My first run was the Cooper River Bridge Run in Charleston, SC.

_DSC1845_edited-1

Fort Sumter (Civil War) in Charleston Harbor

Camera04060728_edited-1

This 6 mile race hosted 45,000 runners and 2.7 miles of it was over the gorgeous Cooper River Bridge.  Cool run but the crowd was a little unsettling at the end of the race!

mudrun2013

My next run was the Ultimate Marine Mud Run (The Leatherneck) which I ran with my husband and two friends.  In this race, you run a little over 6 miles and 36 obstacles.  That was tough and challenging but so much fun!

mud run girls_edited-1

The next run was an “only ladies” 5K mud run.  This was my team, The Muddy Cougars.

_DSC2711_edited-1

The last run was May 18th and the one I am most proud of!  My first 1/2 marathon.

half marathon

When I began running, I contacted a dear friend of mine from high school, Jan and made plans to meet in the mountains of Georgia and run this race.  I am partial to trail runs so thought this run would be more interesting than your average road race.  (I am not a fan of road races, I get bored way too easily.)

This was the most challenging thing I have ever done in my life.  We literally spent the first 3 1/2 miles climbing this mountain and then the next 6 miles running across the top of it (up and down, up and down) and then the last 3 1/2 miles coming down.  This was unlike anything I have ever done in my life and pushed me way past comfortable.

before halfafter half_edited-1

Before and After pictures.  We were both so proud of ourselves for accomplishing this!  Totally cool!

_DSC3023_edited-1

There is no way I could resist getting a 13.1 sticker for my van to remind myself that I did something I never even imagined I could do!

Still running this summer but taking a break from races until October when I have another Mud Run and the Color Run planned with some good friends.

2 thoughts on “5K, 8K, 10K, and 21K…. k, I am taking a summer break!

  1. WOW! You look like you barely broke sweat in the after photo for the half marathon as well! Please take a break and give the rest of us a chance to catch up (I’m not going to try) 😛 Sounds like a lot of fun not doing a road race though. I only know of road races around here. Great you could run with hubby and with friends too. I always think of running as such a solitary thing. People pounding the pavement with their ears plugged up! Congratulations and a well-earned rest xx

Leave a Reply

