Friday Ramblings

Camera03072047_edited-1

After being off my ankle for almost 2 weeks, I got back to running this past week.

Camera03111702_edited-1

That first day running was a little nerve racking.  My ankle was stiff and hurting for the first quarter mile but once it loosened up, I was good to go.

Camera03121808_edited-1

This is my favorite place to run and I was a little nervous that Luke wouldn’t let me go back.  =)

_DSC1375_edited-1

So after only 3 runs last week, I felt ready for my first race.  My sister-in-law, Amy and her sister Julie and I ran in the Great 8 where proceeds benefitted the Boys and Girls Club of Rock Hill.  It was a 5 mile race around Winthrop Lake and the surrounding neighborhoods and gardens.

_DSC1369_edited-1

My mantra that I continued to chant to myself was, “I will not be last.  I will not be last.”  I really only had the goal of finishing and showing myself that my ankle was better.  I wanted to finish around 1 hour and came in at 1 hour and 2 minutes.

_DSC1378_edited-1

So that was the first race in my list of races that I am signed up for over the next 2 months.

This is my countdown.

  1. 8K run at Winthrop University – finished last weekend
  2. 10K run at Cooper River Bridge in Charleston, SC – 16 days
  3. Come-See-Me 5 K run here in Rock Hill, SC – 23 days
  4. USMC Mud Run in Columbia, SC – 37 days
  5. Girls on the Run 5K race with my daughter – 38 days
  6. Twisted Ankle 1/2 marathon Summerville, GA – 58 days
2 thoughts on “Friday Ramblings

    • Thank you! I am taking it nice and slow and my ankle is almost back to normal. I am now sitting down (don’t know how well earned it it!) and instead of tea, I have my coffee. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

