Running is dangerous

I have 4 races coming up over the next 3 months. The last one being a 1/2 marathon in the middle of May. So, I have begun a strict running routine and made my way back to the RiverWalk for the awesome view with hills. I left the house with my husband calling out to be careful.

20130302-151830.jpg

So last night I began a 3 mile run. RiverWalk is known for its abundance of wildlife including deer that will be seen jumping across the trail. I had just passed the 1/2 mile marker when I hear a rustling behind me and I turn my head to see if it is a deer.

20130302-152138.jpg

Now being the conscientious person that I am, I always run to the side so bikes can get by me. Well this day I was especially close to the side and when I turned my head, my foot stepped down on the edge of the path and down I went.

20130302-152422.jpg

Not only did I scape up my knee pretty good but I twisted the other ankle. I just sat down and took stock of my options. No one around. 1/2 mile to get out. Blood running down my leg. Ankle starting to swell.

I start laughing and calling myself all kinds of names. I send the picture to Lucas.
Luke’s text: I thought I told you to be careful.
Me: You did but I thought you meant be careful and not get attacked or raped.
Luke: if I had meant that I wouldn’t have let you go.
Me: I am going to rest a bit and walk out of here. I will call you in a bit.

I sit for a spell and keep my cold hands on my ankle and once I get my breath back I make the hobbling walk out of there and to the truck.

20130302-153331.jpg

Once home, Luke has the first aid kit handy and tends to my knee. I’ll continue my adventure on the next post. I have to ice my ankle right now.

3 thoughts on “Running is dangerous

  1. Ouch…hope the swollen ankle gets better. Be careful next time and keep training. I’m not a runner, but enjoy my 3 mile walks when it’s not freezing outside, like it is today.

  2. Pingback: White out | My Days Can Count

Leave a Reply

