Crown of thorns

_DSC0680_edited-1

While wandering the woods behind my uncle’s home, I came across something I had not seen before.

_DSC0674_edited-1

These thorns were a good 3-4 inches long and sharp.

_DSC0676_edited-1

At first glance, I assumed it was a vine that was growing up the tree but then realized the tree itself was producing these spikes.

_DSC0678_edited-1

After taking every angle picture I could, I went back to the house to ask my uncle about it.

_DSC0679_edited-1

This tree is called a Honey Locust.  He said that he actually cut down all the other ones and left this one near their bonfire pit because it was such an interesting conversation piece.  I would say so!  Simply amazing to me.

2 thoughts on “Crown of thorns

Leave a Reply

