Bacon Brussels Sprout Salad

I am not sure where I came across this recipe but it looked heavenly so it got put on our menu for the week.

_DSC4483_edited-1

As I said, this was a side dish on our menu this week but I just had to have it for lunch today and so I made it.  I had it for lunch and now as I write to you, I am eating the cold leftovers which are still so heavenly!

_DSC4485_edited-1

Are they not just the cutest vegetable ever!  They are so adorable and I do not eat them enough.  I think I will get on a brussels sprouts kick.  I have a few recipes but I will be combing the web looking for more.

_DSC4486_edited-1

Super Simple Ingredients:

  • 1 pound brussels sprouts
  • 5 slices bacon
  • 2 teaspoons orange zest
  • 2 Tablespoons fresh squeezed orange juice
  • 1/4 Cup gorgonzola cheese crumbles
  • salt/pepper

_DSC4502_edited-1_DSC4504_edited-1

Cut up your bacon into little pieces and fry it up in a medium-high heated skillet.  When it is done drain on paper towels but save 1-2 Tablespoons of the bacon grease.

_DSC4493_edited-1

While your bacon cooks, rinse the brussels sprouts really well and pat them dry.  Cut off their stems.

_DSC4494_edited-1

Slice each one in half.

_DSC4498_edited-1

To remove the hard core, just make a simple triangle cut around the core so that you are left with the rest of the brussels sprouts intact.

_DSC4499_edited-1

Throw out the stems and cores and look on admiringly at these little butes.

_DSC4505_edited-1

Once your bacon has been removed, throw in the brussels sprouts and toss them around until they are well coated in the bacon grease.  My skillet is still on a medium to medium-high range.

_DSC4508_edited-1

Cook this for about 5 minutes until they are wilted.

_DSC4514_edited-1

Using a microplane, zest your orange a few rounds until you get about 2 teaspoons of the bright orange zest.  Don’t rub too deep because you do not want the yellow color.

_DSC4516_edited-1

Add your 2 Tablespoons of orange juice as well as your 2 teaspoons of orange zest to a right pretty bowl.

_DSC4521_edited-1

Throw your brussels sprouts, bacon, gorgonzola cheese, a pinch of salt and pepper to this and toss it around.

_DSC4527_edited-1

Do not wait long because you will be loving this salad.  I am about to eat my last bite of the cold leftovers and I am still moaning over the wonderful flavors!

Enjoy!  T

5 thoughts on “Bacon Brussels Sprout Salad

Leave a Reply

