Mushroom-Blue Cheese topped steak

I am a steak and potato girl.  I could eat red meat for every meal but steak..well…steak is just the ultimate.  Now I love mine grilled outside but Luke wasn’t available to do that for me so these were grilled inside on my castiron grill pan that weighs a ton and is a pain to clean but it really does the job when the outside isn’t an option.  Like when your grill is under a few feet of snow or it is raining so hard he fire goes out every time you open the grill.  Though my husband will grill in any weather so those excuses wouldn’t stop him just me.

so, enough of the ramble, on to the awesome steak topped with mushroom-blue cheese sauce.

DSC_4443_edited-1

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 Tablespoons worcestershire sauce
  • 1 pound mushrooms
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1 Cup (4 ounces) crumbled blue cheese

DSC_4449_edited-1DSC_4453_edited-1

In a small saucepan, go ahead and melt your butter over med-high heat.  Once it is melted, add your mushrooms and garlic.

Okay..what about the smell when garlic hits butter and starts cooking?  Oh. My. Goodness.  I just stand over the pot and inhale because I am in heaven.

Okay back to cooking the mushrooms and garlic.  I just let these cook for 5 minutes or so until the mushrooms have turned a light brown color.

DSC_4459_edited-1

Add your worcestershire sauce and crumbled blue cheese to this and stir.  Cook this for about 5 more minutes until the blue cheese is melted and the sauce is a creamy lake of awesomeness.

DSC_4469_edited-1

Because I am not the one to tell you how to cook your meat because that is a personal thing, I will just say, grill your steak to your liking.  I like mine medium-rare to medium while my husband likes his more toward medium-well.  But to get those beautiful grill marks make sure your heat is very high when it first goes on and that will mark your meat.  I like to mark mine first on both sides then cook on indirect heat until the meat is the way we like it, mine coming off the grill awhile before my husband’s.

Pour that sauce over your meat and top with some extra blue cheese crumbles.  Now when you take that first bite, close your eyes and enjoy your little trip to heaven.

2 thoughts on “Mushroom-Blue Cheese topped steak

Leave a Reply

