French Toast

My daughter had a friend over to spend the night this weekend.  Luke and BigMan were at a basketball game so that night’s dinner was all about easy and kid loving friendly.

DSC_4383_edited-1

I am not a fan of a sit-down breakfast in the morning but boy do I love breakfast at night!  And French Toast is my thing.  I eat pancakes and enjoy them but I get giddy over French Toast.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 5 eggs
  • 1 Cup half & half
  • 1/8 cup of vanilla creamer (or whatever flavor you have on hand)
  • 8 slices WhiteWheat (or any sturdy white bread you have)
  • butter
  • maple syrup

DSC_4322_edited-1DSC_4327_edited-1

Crack your eggs into a shallow dish.  Add half & half and creamer to the eggs.

DSC_4363_edited-1DSC_4358_edited-1

Whisk this together.  Take a slice of bread and lay it in the egg mixture and coat one side.  Flip it over to coat the other side.

DSC_4339_edited-1

Run your butter around your heated skillet (med-high heat) until it is coated in melted butter.

DSC_4361_edited-1

Add your bread to the skillet.

DSC_4349_edited-1

Have your assistant tell you when to flip them… OR..  peak under every few moments and flip when the underside is a nice golden brown.

DSC_4364_edited-1

Do the same for this side.

DSC_4383_edited-1

Serve them up with some more butter and maple syrup.

DSC_4377_edited-1

Enjoy!  T

4 thoughts on “French Toast

  1. That looks soooooo good! What is half & half? And what a cool skillet! Is it a standalone electric thing or something? Your assistant looks like a diligent worker. I’m sure you pay well in yummy French toast! 🙂

    • It is found in the milk section of the grocery store. It is 1/2 heavy cream and 1/2 milk mixed together. Also my electric skillet plugs in and is so easy to just pull out and use instead of a skillet on the stove. Hope that helps.. =)

      • Thanks! I think maybe what we call single cream here would work then. I guess heavy cream is the same as our double cream. No idea, but in my mind single cream would be delicious with the recipe! I’ve not made French toast with cream before but I will have to try it for sure 🙂

Leave a Reply

