Crock Pot Mac ‘n Cheese

DSC_3924

I do believe most southern ladies have a similar recipe to this one but since I am a southern transplant from a military upbringing, I had never heard or tasted it before until meeting my mother-in-law.  Since that time it is a staple around here.

ingredients:

  • 8 ounces elbow macaroni
  • 12 ounce can evaporated milk
  • 1  1/2 cups half & half
  • 2 eggs
  • salt and pepper
  • 4 cups sharp cheddar cheese – grated

DSC_3787

Boil your macaroni according to the box directions and drain.

DSC_3790

Spray your crock pot with cooking spray.

DSC_3828DSC_3830

In a small bowl, beat your eggs and then add the can of evaporated milk as well as the half & half.  Stir it up.

DSC_3833

With a bowl of eggs, you do not need to just dump those into the hot macaroni.  This can scramble your eggs and that is not what you want at all.  Add a few spoon fulls of the macaroni TO the bowl of eggs and milk mixture.  Stir this up to bring the temperature of the eggs up to the macaroni slowly.  I do this once more and then dump the egg/milk mixture into the large bowl of macaroni.

DSC_3838

Add the 4 cups of cheddar cheese to your bowl and then sprinkle salt and pepper over this.  I just grab a couple of pinches of each and then adjust later.

DSC_3840

Mix this up and dump it in your crock pot and set to low.  You will cook this for 3  1/2 hours.  Stir it up after every hour.  I also like to take some extra cheese and sprinkle it on top after that 3rd and last stir.

DSC_3924

Last Christmas, we were all sitting around the table enjoying our Christmas Eve feast.  I asked everyone to share their favorite food from this feast.  I think most everyone had a different answer, mine being that I loved the Cranberry Salad (I will share later).

My husband was one of the last to answer.  I sit a little straighter wondering which one of my recipes he would choose.  Would it be the cornbread dressing, the gravy that covers 3 or 4 of the items or the dessert that we hadn’t even gotten to yet?

He looks over his plate and considers his answer for just a moment and then confidently states, “The mac ‘n cheese.”

I do believe my fork rattled to my plate as I looked at him in a most curious way.  Not in a dozen answers would I have thought he would say the mac ‘n cheese which I might add is only on the menu because the kids love it so much.

I stutter through a response and come up with only, “How.  Old.  Are.  You?”

He looks at me just as strangely and really has no idea why I am questioning his answer but to this day I am.. I am still questioning his answer.  I have also not asked that question again since then.

4 thoughts on “Crock Pot Mac ‘n Cheese

  1. Pingback: Crock Pot Mac ‘n Cheese | mississippilady

  2. Apologies for a stupid question but I see so many Mac n cheese recipes out there, I was just wondering how you guys make up the meal with it? What goes with Mac n cheese over your side of the pond?
    We call it macaroni cheese here, but I generally associate it with school dinners and it’s more creamy and probably had less real cheese in it. No idea. I don’t think I’ve ever made it myself.
    Sweet what your hubby said though I thought! 🙂

    • this is lemonade, it is actually a side dish here. Goes with anything and everything. When I am making my menu, I just throw it in a meal that needs one more side to complete it, no deep thought to it because it really does go with any meal.
      A lot of recipes around here use “American Cheese” and “Processed Cheese” which I don’t like in my mac ‘n cheese but does make it creamier. All about preferences.
      BTW, not a stupid question, love knowing we are all so similar.

Leave a Reply

