the history is gone

Back in October I posted pictures of an old church that I passed everyday while driving to pick up the kids from school.  At the time I just felt that if I didn’t take the time to stop and capture the beautiful, old church while I could, it would be gone.  Two days ago I noticed a large backhoe parked behind the church and knew that only a few days would remain of that church that had always caught my eye.

A Slight Detour <—-  click here for that first post.

DSC_3424

Today is cloudy and rainy which fit the mood I wanted for these pictures, I had only to darken them a bit more to add to the mood I was in when I stopped.

DSC_3423

DSC_3419

Very happy to see that someone cut out the cornerstone and kept it.

DSC_3426

DSC_3431

DSC_3435

DSC_3440

DSC_3442

DSC_3443

DSC_3446

DSC_3448

DSC_3449

DSC_3453

DSC_3462

One of the things that had originally drawn me to this church were the stained glass windows and they were just thrown here in a pile.  Tore me up!

DSC_3463

I wonder if anyone else around here even noticed this place or feel any kind of loss with it gone.  Makes me sad when the new replaces the old.

2 thoughts on “the history is gone

  1. great photos of a sad event. Hopefully there was a good reason for taking it down but I agree with you that it seemd SUCH a huge waste for those beautful windows to just be trashed 😦

Leave a Reply

