Loaded Potato Casserole

DSC_1009

Very simple to make and ingredients right on hand.

DSC_0951

Ingredients

  • 1-1/2 pounds red potatoes (about 6 medium)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 pound sliced bacon
  • 16 ounces sour cream
  • 2 cups (8 ounces) shredded monterey jack cheese
  • 2 cups (8 ounces) shredded cheddar cheese
  • 2 green onions, sliced

DSC_0954

I do not peel these potatoes because they look so pretty in the casserole.  Go ahead and slice and dice the potatoes up into small pieces.

DSC_0960

Put them on to boil.  Boil them until they are “fork tender”.  The smaller the pieces the less time to boil.

DSC_0966

While the potatoes are getting boiled up, heat up a skillet to cook your bacon.

DSC_0970

I like to cut my bacon (with kitchen scissors) before throwing it into a pan.  Just saves me some time.

DSC_0973

Cook the bacon until done and then drain on papertowels until ready to use.

DSC_0962

Recipe calls for green onions.  I had chives on hand and prefer the more mild onion flavor since my husband does not like onions.  Dice up the green onions (or chives).

DSC_0963

Shred your cheeses.

DSC_0977

Once potatoes are fully cooked, drain them.

DSC_0980

In a 9×13 casserole dish, grease the bottom with butter.

DSC_0982

Place 1/2 the potatoes in the dish.

DSC_0984

Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

DSC_0986

Cover with 1/2 the cooked bacon.

DSC_0988

Cover that with 1/2 the sour cream.

DSC_0990

Top that with 1/2 the shredded cheeses.  Repeat the layers with the rest of the ingredients ending with the green onions on top. (If you like, leave the green onions off here and sprinkle them over the finished dish just before serving.)

Bake, uncovered, in a preheated 350 degree oven for 20-25 minutes or until the cheeses are melted.

DSC_1009

Enjoy!  T

5 thoughts on “Loaded Potato Casserole

  1. OH wow! I love melted cheese and you have just given me the ideal idea for what to make for dinner tonight. I don’t have bacon to hand, but I do have frankfurters haha 🙂 And I have potatoes. And I have some veg and onions… and grated cheddar in a bag… YAY 🙂 I might even take pictures 😛 I love your blog x

Leave a Reply

