the fun we had in Tennessee

DSC_1264

Our time spent in Tennessee with my family for Thanksgiving was fun-filled which had to include croquet, one of my all time favorite games.

DSC_1653

DSC_1680

My brother, Chuck, is an avid disc golf player and so he brought his discs and one of his basket stands to teach the boys how to play.

DSC_1547

My sister-in-law, Christy, my sister, Dawn and myself all piled in my uncles itty-bitty truck and headed out to take pictures at the old farmhouse my grandaddy grew up in.  We seem to bring out the crazy in each other!

DSC_1635

While in these mountains, the rocking chairs are never empty.

DSC_1768

My uncle took Lucas and I on a tour of several historic cemetaries around and one was being guarded by an amazingly friendly donkey.  The boys petted and loved on it and when they had to leave he began the loudest tyrade I have ever heard.  My youngest scampered back to him to give him some more attention which is exactly what he wanted.

DSC_1270

Down the hill behind my uncle’s home sits a tiny cabin that he and my grandfather made.  This is my uncle’s little hideaway.  Well actually his office/study.

DSC_1277

The space is decorated in old photographs of family long gone as well as documents like one allowing a great-great-great… grandfather the right to vote again after the Civil War ended.  It is a really lovely hideaway.

DSC_1267

Black walnuts were everywhere.  Not a fan of them myself but they really are huge.

DSC_1535

My sweet sister lounging outside talking with Lucas.

Middle man spent each day trying to tackle this tree.  He had it in his mind to get as high as possible.

DSC_1697

I thought this was high enough.

DSC_1824

He came away with a horrible case of poison ivy.  He was pitiful, bless his heart!

3 thoughts on “the fun we had in Tennessee

Leave a Reply

