2012 Thanksgiving

We traveled to the mountains of Tennessee to be with my family for Thanksgiving.  We spent 3 days laughing, cooking, eating and relaxing with some of my favorite people.

The best thing about Thanksgiving and all our holidays is the food.  I love the menu planning, the cooking and especially the eating.  But what was so great this year was being in the kitchen with all the other women and laughing and cooking together.

The last details.

Smoked Turkey and Fried Turkey were the main attractions.

From my step-mother’s jello salad to my grandmother’s incredible cornbread dressing with dumpling gravy around to my sweet potato casserole and my sister-in-law’s cornbread pudding.  There was so much incredible food, no one wanted to stop sampling.

We did however have to stop at one point so that we would have room enough for all the desserts that were created.  Buttermilk pie with fruit syrup, pumpkin pie, pecan pie, black walnut pie, cherry pie and pumpkin pudding… there was a little for everyone’s tastes.

The absolute best part was the company!  It really does not get any better than this!

My precious sister-in-law, Christy, manned the kid’s table.

Most favor Christmas over all the holidays but Thanksgiving is my all time favorite!!  It is all about family and I just can’t help but be overwhelmed with thankfulness for the one I have.

One thought on “2012 Thanksgiving

  1. Tara, itlooksslike you all had agreat time and gained a few pounds. so thrilled that you all got t0ogether. our group was slim but was just great being with family. love granny

Leave a Reply

