Meatloaf….not the boring kind!

I grew up cringing at the thought of meatloaf.  Until…. I tried my Aunt Trisha’s recipe and have not needed another recipe since then.  It passes the test when all my kids eat it up and ask for seconds.

Ingredients:

For meatloaf:

3 pounds ground beef

3/4 Cups panko bread crumbs (original recipe calls for 2 slices bread – cumbled)

1 egg

1 package dry onion soup mix

1 medium green bell pepper

1 Tablespoon worcestershire sauce

1 (8 ounce) can tomato sauce

For sauce:

1 (8 ounce) can tomato sauce

2 Tablespoons brown sugar

1/2 Cup sugar

2 Tablespoons red wine vinegar

2 teaspoons yellow mustard

Start with a large bowl and begin adding your ingredients for the meat loaf.  3 pounds ground beef.

3/4 Cup Panko bread crumbs or crumble up 2 slices of bread

Beat the egg up just a bit and add.

Package Dry onion soup mix

Slice and Dice your green bell pepper.

Add green pepper to your bowl.

1 Tablespoon worcestershire sauce

1 (8 ounce) can tomato sauce

Dip your hands right in there and gently mix this up.  I say gently because if you work it too hard it becomes really dense and heavy.  So don’t squish and squeeze it through your fingers just toss it around and rake your fingers through it unti it is well mixed.

I make the loaf shape in my hand gently, trying not to squeeze it too much.  Then I place it in the loaf pan.  Using my fingers, I make sure there is a space between the meat and the pan so the grease will have a place to pool until I can drain it off.. if not I have had it overflow and smoke up my kitchen.

Not pretty.  I do however put a pan under this while it is cooking just in case the grease finds a way to escape.

This goes in a 350 degree oven for 1 hour and 40 minutes.

In a small saucepan, empty the 8 ounce can tomato sauce.

Add 2 Tablespoons brown sugar

1/2 Cup sugar

2 Tablespoons red wine vinegar

2 teaspoons yellow mustard

Mix the sauce up and place on medium heat just until it boils.  I time this for the last 10 minutes of the meat loaf cooking time.

Meat loaf is cooked and look at all the grease that will need to come out and could have spilled over but couldn’t cause of my little “well” that went around the meat.

Everyone has their way to drain off grease and fat.  Mine is to get a paper plate and a few paper towels.  I just pour it over them and then when it cools, I toss it in the trash.  I did see a recent suggestion that I liked on Pinterest.  Get a little aluminum foil and make a small bowl and pour grease into that and when it is cool, toss it.

So the grease is drained, the sauce is hot and now pour the sauce over the meat and down into the “well” we made so the meat is surrounded by the sauce.

Stick this back in the 350 degree oven for 15 minutes.

Enjoy!

T

2 thoughts on “Meatloaf….not the boring kind!

Leave a Reply

