Avocado Dip

So this is a recipe my mom used to make.  My mom was not the main cook in our home but she had a few recipes up her sleeve that I still love.

Ingredients:

1 medium ripe avocado

a few splashes lemon juice

8 ounces cream cheese

1 cup sour cream

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup milk

8 ounce block cheddar cheese

your favorite lettuce

4-5 ripe roma tomatoes

tortilla chips

(sorry bad picture)  One medium ripe avocado.  Now I am no expert but it needs to be soft to the touch.  Share with me the ways you know a good avocado cause sometimes it is hit or miss.

Peel avocado.      Green is my favorite color so I am loving this picture.

Now I just run my knife around the pit and twist the two halves apart and pull out the pit.  This pit was the size of a baseball.

Slice then dice up the avocado and put in a bowl.

***note***  I would normally be tossing this and everything else into a blender but my blender is having issues so I am going to be doing the handheld mixer but a blender is soooo much easier.

Add about three splashes of lemon juice.  This will keep the avocado from turning from it’s beautiful color and lemon juice just always adds a little bit of a twang that I love.

8 ounces of cream cheese.  I allow this to soften on the counter for about 30 minutes so it is easier to incoorporate.

Add that to the bowl (or mixer if that is what you are using)

Add 1 teaspoon salt.  Now salt is salt is salt or so I always thought but I now only cook with sea salt or kosher salt.  I save table salt for the table.

1 cup sour cream


Toss that in there.

1/2 cup milk.  We are a fat free milk family but use what you have.

Pour it right on in there.

Like I said, a blender would be a ton easier but I will use what I have and you do the same.  Mix that baby up.

Looking good, just keep at it until it is a smooth, creamy texture.

Pour this into a large pie plate.

8 ounce block of cheddar cheese.  I am partial to sharp cheddar.

Grate the cheese.

2 cups of cheese will about do it but add more or less depending on your love of cheese.

Cover the top of the avocado dip with the cheese.

Grab your favorite lettuce.  I love the curls and color of green leaf lettuce. Tear some of the leaves into small pieces to sprinkle over the top of the cheese.

Grab 4-5 roma tomatoes.

Dice these up.

Layer the lettuce and tomatoes on top of the cheese.

Now that I think on it, the lettuce then the tomatoes and then the cheese might look better just add less cheese so it is just sprinkled on top so you can see the green and red colors.  But that is just me.  I like the way food looks and the better it looks the more fun it is to eat.

Scoop some out and eat it up with some tortilla chips.

2 thoughts on “Avocado Dip

Leave a Reply

