Frozen Vanilla Custard

I enjoy food!  What’s more is that when I find something that I really enjoy, I have to find out how to make it so I can enjoy it more often.  That was the case with Frozen Custard.  Never had it and never heard of it until a few years back when my husband and I were visiting some of his relatives in Atlanta and they bought some to introduce us to.  Oh. My. Goodness!  I fell in love.

Ingredients:

18 egg yolks

3 Cups powdered sugar (confectioner’s sugar)

11  1/2 Cups  Half & Half (divided – meaning you won’t be using it all at the same time)

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

18 egg yolks – This is the secret ingredient that sets this apart from regular ice cream.  This is what gives it that unique rich flavor that is far deeper than ice cream.

For this recipe, we are only needing the egg yolks.  There are a few ways to separate an egg but I can never find  my egg separator and well.. I love to play with my food so here is what I do.  Crack the egg.

Now gently spill the egg into your hand and let the egg white fall through your fingers then plop that yolk in a glass bowl.

Here is what you have left after 18 eggs.  I should have whipped up some egg white omelets but I have a one track mind and that didn’t occur to me until I saw this picture just now.

18 egg yolks in a glass bowl.

To those egg yolks add 3 Cups powdered sugar (also called confectioner’s sugar).

With a fork (cause that is what is easiest for me to whip up eggs), whip up the eggs with the sugar until all is perfectly incoorporated.

Measure out 5  3/4 Cups Half & Half saving the other 5  3/4 Cups for later.

Pour your Half & Half into a large pot and slowly bring it to boiling point.

Once the Half & Half reaches a boil, gently pout it into the large bowl of egg yolk/sugar mixture.

Grab your whisk and whisk that sucker up until it is all combined.

Return this to the pot and set on medium heat.  Make sure to constantly whisk it until it starts to thicken up.  This will take anywhere from 5-10 minutes.

Make sure not to allow it to boil or the mixture will separate.  So keep it on Medium and keep it moving.

Remove it from heat and go ahead and pour it into your ice cream making container and put this in a bowl of ice.  You are wanting to cool this off  before adding the last ingredients.

Now measure out your last 5  3/4 Cups Half & Half and to this add your 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract.  Mix it up.

Once the heated half is completely cooled off, add the last half and whisk together in the ice cream making container (don’t know what it is called).

Now stick the paddle in, add the lid, place it in the ice cream machine.  Add your ice and salt and getter going.

Um, wow!  Enjoy cause I sure did!

T

Leave a Reply

