It’s not just old… it’s history

While in Ohio, we took a tour of a “Pioneer Village”.  Historical homes and buildings have been brought to this property and reconstructed using as much of the original material as possible.  I love anything old and if it has a history behind it, even better.

Ths is the roof on one of the small shacks.  So cool.

There goes Lucas.  He is a history teacher so this was right up his alley.  He filled me in and answered all my questions.

I’m not sure why but there is just something about doors that draws me in.

I did learn something very interesting.  This style of home is called a saddlebag house.  The two parts are linked by a narrow hallway.  The smaller one housed the kitchen to keep the heat out of the main house.

I really loved the wooden roof shingles.  This was the roof of a lean-to on the back of one of the homes.

What was growing on the wooden shingles.  Too cool.

One thought on “It’s not just old… it’s history

  1. Great photos. I love old houses like that. I find myself wondering who lived there and what they (and their lives) were like. Great details. Thanks for taking us on the tour 🙂

Leave a Reply

