Low Country Shrimp Boil

This is one of my all time favorite summer dinners and just like all my favs.. we eat it year round cause there is no way I can wait through fall and winter and then spring to eat this incredible meal!

This meal is not only delicious but incredibly fun to eat as a family cause you just toss it on the table and everyone digs in.  Definate crowd pleaser!

Ingredints:

1/2 C Old Bay Seasoning

2 Tablespoons salt

12 oz bottle of beer ( I use a dark lager beer for the deep flavor it adds but whatever you find or leave out if you are against cooking with alcohol.)

4 quarts water

8 medium red potatoes

2 pounds smoked sausage

8 ears of corn (frozen is fine)

4 pounds shrimp (deveined but still in shell)

You will need a very large 8 quart stock pot.  You can find these at Walmart.  Before I bought this one we cooked this meal in the large pot that came with our turkey fryer.

In your 8 quart pot, add 4 quarts of water.

Add 1/2 cup of Old Bay Seasoning.

Add 12 ounce bottle of beer.

Add 2 Tablespoons salt. Add lid and bring this to a boil over high heat.

8 medium red potatoes.  I had a lot more of the small red potatoes so I needed more.  I think I had 14 small to med-small potatoes.

Cut the red potatoes in half (if they aren’t very large) ….

Or cut them in quarters if they are a bit large.  You want all the potatoes to be done at the same time so make sure the pieces are all about the same size.

Once your water/seasoning mixture is boiling, add the potatoes.  Cook the potatoes for 10 minutes on high heat.  I return the lid to the pot in between each step to get the liquid boiling quicker.

2 pounds smoked sausage

Cut these into large chunks.  Big enough that you need to take a few bites to eat them.   Add the smoked sausage to the large pot of potatoes (after 10 min timer ends).  Add lid and cook for 8 minutes.

8 ears of corn (frozen is fine.)  I think I only had 7, not sure where the other one went but oh well.

Hold the corn in both hands and snap them in half.  Add the corn to your pot (after 8 min timer ends).  Add lid and cook for 7 minutes.

4 pounds shrimp – deveined but shell left on.  I wait for the buy one/ get one free at Food Lion or Harris Teeter and I do not pay more than $3.99  per pound.

They might have thawed a bit before I put them in the pot but they can go in frozen.  Add the shrimp to the pot (after the 7 min timer ends). Add lid and cook for 5 minutes.

Your pot should be at capacity by now.

Now you need to prepare your table for the feast!

Spread out a large black leaf/yard bag to protect your table from the liquid.

Cover the black bag with a few layers of newspaper to absorb the liquid. Then open up some grocery brown bags and cover the newspaper.

I have a huge metal ladel that I dip out large portions of the food and put into a collander.  I fill the collander and drain the liquid and then dump the food onto the brown bag covered table.  It takes a few trips from pot to collander to table.  Now pull out the paper plates.  This is no time for the good dishes.  No utensils needed.  Everyone sits around and just digs in with their hands.

Enjoy!  I sure did!  T

3 thoughts on “Low Country Shrimp Boil

  1. This looks absolutely amazing…I may just have to try this…I live out west so our foods out here are nothing like this! Love it! Thanks for posting this.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Menu | My Days Can Count

Leave a Reply

