Smothered Mushrooms (my version of stuffed mushrooms)

I borrowed this recipe from my best friend, Angie.  Anytime we are together and eating, I ask her to make her stuffed mushrooms.  I don’t like to take the time to stuff so I call mine smothered, cause I just spread the stuffing over the mushrooms and then top with bread crumbs and parmesan cheese and bake.

2 packages white mushrooms

2 Tablespoons Olive Oil

8 ounces cream cheese

3 cloves garlic

salt and pepper

1/4 Cup Italian bread crumbs

1/4 Cup parmesan cheese

2 Tablespoons butter

2 packages white mushrooms (one of my packages was fading quicker than the other so had to cook tonight before they “ruint”. Clean off the mushrooms with a damp cloth.

Separate tops from stems.  Keep the stems, you will use them in the “stuffing”.

Heat a skillet on med-high heat and drizzle 2 Tablespoons olive oil.

Place your mushrooms (tops down) in heated olive oil and let them cook for 2 minutes.

Grab a small casserole dish.

Line the dish with foil.  Makes for easy clean-up.

Once mushrooms have been sauteed for 2 minutes, transfer them to your casserole dish.  If you have more than will fit, set the extras on top.

In a bowl, add 8 ounces cream cheese.

Add the chopped stems you set aside from the mushroom tops.  (I didn’t take a picture but I cut off the ends of the stem that are a little tougher than the end that was connected to the shroom.)

Mince (chop up really small) 3 cloves garlic.

Add your garlic to the bowl.

Add 1 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon pepper to this.

Because I didn’t think ahead and let the cream cheese sit out and soften I just dumped this into the skillet I sauteed my mushrooms in.  It softens quickly and I just mixed the ingredients up in the skillet.

Transfer the cream cheese “stuffing” to the casserole dish and spread this to cover the mushrooms.

Sprinkle 1/4 Cup Italian Bread crumbs over the top of the cream cheese.

Sprinkle the top with 1/4 Cup (or more if you want) of Parmesan cheese.  Melt 2 Tablespoon butter and drizzle this over the top of it all.

Place casserole into a 350 degree oven for 25 minutes or until the top is golden.

The “stuffing” melts and fills the mushrooms and spreads to every crevice of the casserole dish and coats the mushrooms all around.  They are sitting in a pool of cream cheese heaven!

Enjoy!

T

One thought on “Smothered Mushrooms (my version of stuffed mushrooms)

  1. Pingback: Weekly Menu | My Days Can Count

Leave a Reply

