Fried Green Tomatoes (some fried squash thrown in there too)

So yesterday after tending to my garden and hanging tomatoes I decided to take pictures.  Green is my favorite color and I spent a lot of time photographing the gorgeous green tomatoes.  Hmmmmm…. Green Tomatoes…. Fried Green Tomatoes… I know what will be for dinner!

4-6 green tomatoes

2 Cups buttermilk

3 Cups cornmeal

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

1 teaspoon Tony Chachere’s Seasoning

Canola Oil for frying

Assemble your station.  I bought these containers from Pampered Chef years ago.  You can also use some shallow bowls or deep plates or just whatever your little heart desires.  You will need three.

I begin by mixing the cornmeal and seasonings in a seperate bowl.  Then put 1 Cup of the cornmeal with seasonings in the first dish and the other 2 Cups of cornmeal in the last dish.  In the middle dish pour 2 Cups buttermilk.

I only had 3 green tomatoes to pick today so I grabbed a squash from my garden and decided to fry it up too.  Are those color not beautiful?

Slice the green tomatoes into 1/2 inch thick slices.  I did the same for the squash.  They are just begging to be fried!

Begin by tossing the slices in the first dish of cornmeal.  Make sure to cover both sides well and lightly shake off any excess.

Now dip the slices into the dish with buttermilk, coating both sides.

Now drop the slice into the last dish and cover the top with cornmeal.  Flip the slice over and cover the other side in cornmeal.  (Very lightly shake off excess.  If you shake to hard, the “batter” will come off.)

Spread out a couple of pieces of wax paper or parchment paper to lay out the slices you’ve covered.

Pour canola oil into your skillet.  About 1/2 inch deep.  Heat the oil on medium-high heat.

Once all your tomato slices have been covered in cornmeal begin the frying.  Carefully lay the slices into the hot oil.

Flip the slices after about 2 minutes or when the color on the underside is a golden brown.  Just take a peak if you aren’t sure.  The tomato above was flipped before it was fully done to my liking so after the other side finishes, I flipped it back to get the other part browned too.  The  more you fry the better you get.

Once both sides are done to  your liking, remove them with a spatula or slotted spoon and place them on some papertowels to drain off the excess oil.  As soon as they are removed from the oil, I lightly sprinkle them with salt while they are still hot.

Repeat this process until all the tomato slices are fried up.

I could not help it!  Fresh out of the oil with a bit of sea salt on top.  Oh. My. Goodness.  I literally sighed with that first bite.

Now enjoy!

T

One thought on “Fried Green Tomatoes (some fried squash thrown in there too)

  1. Pingback: Weekly Menu | My Days Can Count

Leave a Reply

