Shrimp Pasta Salad

3 tablespoon butter

2 pounds shrimp

2 pounds pasta (use whatever style you like)

2 bell peppers

3 large tomatoes

2 large cucumbers

1 large can black olives

4 green onions

1 large bottle Zesty Italian Dressing

salt/pepper

Tony Chachere’s Creole seasoning

Melt 3 tablespoons butter in large skillet.

Once butter is melted, add shrimp.

***I stock up on shrimp.  When FoodLion has their frozen shrimp buy one get one free, I get 6 bags and keep them in my deep freezer.  The kind I buy is only deveined.  The tail and shell are still on these shrimp.  You can cook the shrimp any way you choose.  I do not like to handle raw shrimp because I have an allergic reaction to raw shellfish so I throw the shrimp into the melted butter frozen with shells still on.***

Your shrimp is finished cooking when they are pink and curled up.  Transfer the shrimp to a collander and allow to cool.

I used farfalle pasta this time just because I wanted some kind of pasta that the dressing would just pool in.

Bring a large pot of water to a boil and add your 2 pounds of pasta.  When the pasta is finished to your liking, drain in a collander and allow to cool.

Now lets work on those gorgeous vegetables!

Chop 2 bell peppers.  Toss these into a very large bowl.  You need all the room you can get.  I use Tupperware’s That’s a Mega Bowl. ( I like to use a green bell pepper and an orange one just to add more color but use whatever colors you have on hand.)

Chop 3 large tomatoes and add to your bowl.

Cut up your 2 large cucumbers and add these to the bowl.  (I use Hot House Cucumbers also called Burpless Cucumbers or Seedless Cucumbers.  You buy them individually sealed in plastic.  Other cucumbers have to be peeled because they have a wax coating that is added to their skins and I like to leave the skins on.)

1 large can black olives, sliced and added to the bowl.

4 green onions, chopped and added. (My husband does not like a strong onion flavor so I add only the green part of the onions and leave off the white end.  If you like more onion flavor, chop up the white end and add that too.)

Add your large Zesty Italian Dressing to the vegetables and allow to just marinate while we turn our attention to our shrimp.

2 pounds of shrimp, cooled and shells removed.

Add shrimp to bowl. Add the pasta to the bowl also (I didn’t get a picture of this.) Go ahead and mix all this together.

Seasonings we will be adding.  Salt, about 2 teaspoons or a little in the palm of your hand.  Pepper, about 1 teaspoon.  Tony Chachere’s Creole Seasoning.  I sprinkle liberally over the top.  Add more for more kick and less for less kick.  I add Tony’s to just about everything I eat.

Mix the seasonings into the pasta salad.

I love Summer Salads!!!

One thought on “Shrimp Pasta Salad

  1. Pingback: Weekly Menu | My Days Can Count

Leave a Reply

