Corn Salad

I posted my Creamy Black Bean Corn Dip yesterday so I will share with you my other Summer Corn Favorite.  Corn Salad.  I first tasted this wonderful salad about a year ago and make it every chance I get.

Corn Salad

1 (16 oz) bag frozen corn

2 Cups grated cheddar cheese

1 Cup mayonaise

1/2 green pepper chopped

1/2 red onion chopped

1 bag Chili-cheese flavored corn chips

Mix all ingredients except corn chips and chill.  Just before serving add crushed chips.

I begin this salad with a bag of frozen corn.  I do not give it time to thaw before beginning this recipe but add it to the bowl in all its frozen glory.  Once all the ingredients are added, the frozen corn has been given enough time to thaw and the rest of the salad is chilled.  You might wonder if the extra liquid makes the salad watery and my answer is no.  But if that is a concern of yours, allow the corn to thaw and pat dry.

Chop 1/2 a pepper and 1/2 a red onion.

The recipe calls for 1/2 green pepper chopped.  Well, I am sure I usually have green peppers on hand but lately I have every other color except green so here I used a red pepper instead of the green one.  I prefer the greeen pepper because it just adds another color to the salad but no taste difference so use what you have.

Dump that right into the bowl.  See how the green pepper would have been gorgeous with the yellow!

Add 2 Cups grated cheddar cheese to the mix.

Add 1 Cup mayo to that. The recipe doesn’t call for it but here I usually add just a teaspoon of salt and fresh ground pepper.  I just add that to most things regardless.

Now mix this up completely and store in the frig until you are ready to serve.

Now here is the ingredient that just sends this salad over the edge and well.. this is what gets my kids to eat it in the first place.  Chili Cheese Corn Chips

The recipe calls for crushing the chips and mixing it in the salad before serving but I just grab a handful and plop it on top of each serving.  It works for us!

I just love those Dump Recipes, don’t you!

Leave a Reply

